Site icon Passionate in Knowledge

Human Skeletal System : A Brief Review

Human skeletal system, the internal skeleton that serves as a framework for the body. This framework consists of many individual bones and cartilages. There also are bands of fibrous connective tissue—the ligaments and the tendons—in intimate relationship with the parts of the skeleton.

The adult human skeleton is a framework of 206 bones and is anatomically divided into two parts, the axial skeleton and the appendicular skeleton.

Axial skeleton


It consists of the following 80 bones

Skull:           28 bones
Hyoid:           1 bone
Vertebrae:  26 bones
Ribs:             24 bones
Sternum:      1 bone
Axial skeleton divided into:

Appendicular skeleton


It consists of 126 bones.

Pectoral girdle: 4 bones (Scapula and clavicle)

Arms and forearms: 6 bones (Humerus and radius)

Wrists and hands: 54 bones (Carpals, metacarpals, and phalanges)

Bony Pelvis: 2 bones (Os coxae)

Thighs and legs: 8 bones (Femur, patella, tibia, and fibula)

Ankles and feet: 52 bones (Tarsals, metatarsals, and phalanges)


Appendicular skeleton divided into:





Exit mobile version